The Troublesome Twinkle Toes

First and foremost, I apologize for not posting in so long! I was overwhelmed by finals for a bit, and I have been enjoying taking a break from the internet while I am at home with the family. BUT it’s time to get back on track, and there’s a lot to share!

This post is a little bit unique – I want to talk about the 2010 commercial for Skechers Twinkle Toes. While I would have definitely been a fan of these sparkly, colorful shoes when I was young, the jingle absolutely ruins the shoe and the brand for me now that I am an adult. I thought I might be alone in this, but after surfing the internet a bit and reading tons of YouTube comments, I realized I am not.

Picture from Skechers.com

As a fan of children’s entertainment, I am an avid Nickelodeon watcher when I have time to sit in front of the television. But for as little as I watch TV, I could not count how many times I have seen the Twinkle Toes commercial if I wanted to. Not only is this commercial over-run, but it also has the single most annoying jingle I have ever heard in my life. Watch.

I understand the purpose of a jingle is to form a recognizable association for the brand. Several companies have done that successfully; what little kid doesn’t know the McDonald’s ba-da-ba-ba-ba tune? But there is a difference between using and abusing this tactic, in my opinion, and for a company as reputable and large-scale as Skechers, they should know better. True, their jingle gets stuck in your head when you don’t want it to, and yes, my little sister and I can sing along with it when it comes on. However, they cross into the singing-along-so-that-we-can’t-hear-the-commercial-itself realm. Marketing tactics should be developed with the intent of improving the brand image, not to get attention because they are so annoying.

What do you think of the jingle? Have you heard any that are equally aggravating? Do you think they serve their purpose?

About amandajcorreia

I am a Marketing Communications student who ready to share and explore the world of social media! I am very passionate about blogging and "staying connected", and would like to meet other like-minded eAficionados.
This entry was posted in advertising, outbound marketing, television. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

